Child Well-Being Law

Through a seven-year community consultation process, the Anishinabek Nation drafted the Anishinabek Nation Child Well-Being Law under First Nations’ inherent jurisdiction to child and youth well-being, and family unity. In 2015, the Anishinabek Nation Chiefs-in-Assembly approved the Law in-principle and directed the Anishinabek Nation to present the Law to its 39 member First Nations for their individual review and approval.

To date, with the support of Koganaawsawin, 22 Anishinabek First Nations have chosen to enact the Law in their communities.The Law acknowledges, respects, and supports the primary role of the parents, guardians, families, and communities in safeguarding and promoting the well-being of Anishinaabe children and youth.

The Anishinabek Nation Children’s Commissioner is responsible to oversee implementation, compliance, and enforcement of the Anishinabek Nation Child Well-Being Law.

First Nations Implementing the Law

Bezhik - Lake Superior

  • Biigtigong Nishnaabeg

    Biigtigong Nishnaabeg

  • Biinjitiwaabik Zaaging Anishinaabek

    Biinjitiwaabik Zaaging Anishinaabek

  • Long Lake #58

    Long Lake #58

  • Namaygoosisagagun


  • Netmizaaggamig Nishnaabeg

    Netmizaaggamig Nishnaabeg
    ( Pic Mobert )

  • Red Rock

    Red Rock
    ( Lake Helen )

Niizh - Lake Huron

  • Ojibways of Aundeck Omni Kaning

    Ojibways of Aundeck Omni Kaning

  • Sheguiandah


  • Sheshegwaning


  • Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory

    Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory

  • Zhiibaahaasing


Nswi - Lake Huron

  • Dokis


  • Henvey Inlet

    Henvey Inlet

  • Magnetawan


  • Moose Deer Point

    Moose Deer Point

  • Nipissing


  • Wahnapitae


  • Wasauksing


Niiswin - Southeast/Southwest

  • Alderville


  • Beausoleil


  • Munsee-Delaware Nation

    Munsee-Delaware Nation

  • Chippewas of Kettle & Stony Point

    Chippewas of Kettle & Stony Point